Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Old Dominion takes home vocal group prize at CMAs

Old Dominion takes home vocal group prize at CMAs

Old Dominion (copy)

Old Dominion

Being a top vocal band is old hat for Old Dominion.

The band, which includes two Botetourt County natives, on Wednesday won its third consecutive Country Music Association Vocal Group of the Year Award.

Eric Church (entertainer of the year) and Maren Morris (best single, best song, best female vocalist) were the big winners from the ABC presentation.

Old Dominion took its prize from a field that also featured Lady A, Little Big Town, Midland and Rascal Flatts. The band, whose front man Matt Ramsey and drummer Whit Sellers grew up in Botetourt, also performed a tribute to the “Urban Cowboy” movie, with the song “Lookin’ for Love.” See and hear it at

The band’s self-titled album, which it co-produced with Shane McAnally, had a nomination but lost to Luke Combs’ “What You See Is What You Get.”

The shelves are getting crowded in the OD band members’ homes. The band took two prizes — for vocal group and song — during September’s Academy of Country Music Awards, and a CMT Music Award for best video. “One Man Band” was the big single from the quintet’s third album, which had debuted atop the Billboard magazine country albums chart and this week was selected as the ASCAP Country Awards’ song of the year.

Another Southwest Virginia native, songwriter and producer Ross Copperman, was nominated as a co-producer for Gabby Barrett single “I Hope.” Morris and her team won with her single, “The Bones.”

Reba McEntire and Darius Rucker hosted the event, which was broadcast from a Nashville, Tennessee, venue with a live audience. The nominees and performers did not wear masks.

The CMA, in a statement, wrote: “We are following all protocols that have been put in place by the CDC as well as the creative unions to ensure we provide the safest environment possible,” said a statement on behalf of the CMA,” according to The Tennessean newspaper, in Nashville.

Lady A, Rascal Flatts, Florida Georgia Line, Lee Brice and musician of the year Jenee Fleenor pulled out due to COVID-19 illness or exposure, according to Tennessee reported more than 3,500 new cases that day, with an average of more than 3,200 per day, according to The New York Times.

See the full list of nominees and winners at

Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Sports Breaking News

News Alert