Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Justin Jefferson, four QBs are finalists for MVP award

  • Updated
  • 0
NFL: Indianapolis Colts at Minnesota Vikings

Dec 17, 2022; Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA; Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson (18) reacts to his catch during the fourth quarter against the Indianapolis Colts at U.S. Bank Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matt Krohn-USA TODAY Sports

Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson joins four quarterbacks as the finalists, announced Wednesday, for the Associated Press 2022 NFL Most Valuable Player award.

Three of the QBs are battling for Super Bowl LVII berths on Sunday, with Jalen Hurts of the Philadelphia Eagles and Joe Burrow of the Cincinnati Bengals joining 2018 MVP Patrick Mahomes of the Kansas City Chiefs. Josh Allen of the Buffalo Bills is also a finalist.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 catches and 1,809 receiving yards in his third season. The unanimous first-team All-Pro is trying to become the first wideout ever to win AP MVP honors, presented annually since 1957.

Quarterbacks have swept the last nine MVP awards and 14 of the last 15, with Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers taking home his third and fourth MVP trophies in 2020 and 2021.

Jefferson, Hurts and Mahomes are also finalists for Offensive Player of the Year.

The Defensive Player of the Year finalists are the San Francisco 49ers' Nick Bosa, the Chiefs' Chris Jones and Micah Parsons of the Dallas Cowboys.

Saquon Barkley of the New York Giants, Christian McCaffrey of the 49ers and Geno Smith of the Seattle Seahawks are up for Comeback Player of the Year.

The Giants' Brian Daboll, the 49ers' Kyle Shanahan and Doug Pederson of the Jacksonville Jaguars are the finalists for Coach of the Year.

The Offensive Rookie of the Year finalists are Brock Purdy of the 49ers, Kenneth Walker of the Seahawks and Garrett Wilson of the New York Jets.

Ahmad "Sauce" Gardner of the Jets, Aidan Hutchinson of the Detroit Lions and Seattle's Tariq Woolen are the Defensive Rookie of the Year finalists.

Up for Assistant Coach of the Year are Eagles offensive coordinator Shane Steichen, 49ers defensive coordinator DeMeco Ryans and Lions OC Ben Johnson.

The winners will be announced at the NFL Honors event on Feb. 9.

A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed the voting before the start of the playoffs.

This was the first year for the AP's new voting system. Voters chose a top five for MVP and a top three for all other awards. For MVP, first-place were worth 10 points. Second through fifth-place votes were worth five, three, two and one points.

For all the other awards, first-place votes equaled five points, second were three points and third were one point.

--Field Level Media


Originally published on, part of the TownNews Content Exchange.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Cormani McClain didn’t cover receivers so much as smother them. The way a wool blanket smothers a campfire. “The only cornerback (in greater Miami) that I can remember that looked like Cormani was Pat Surtain II,” Samari Rolle, the former Pro Bowl defensive back and now a prep football coach in South Florida, told me late last week. “He looked like he could go to the (NFL) combine in high ...

BOSTON — In Bill We Trust. O’Brien, that is. The other Bill — Belichick — is still teetering on the edge of being trusted given some of his curious decision-making in recent years. At least he got the right guy to be his offensive coordinator, and gave him the actual title. While Belichick’s a year late with this hire, it’s better late than never as the saying goes. Landing a coach who has a ...

As writers covering the Cowboys, we don’t run the risk of tearing an ACL or leaving the press box on a stretcher for any reason beyond having eaten too many nachos. But we do bang our head against the wall a lot. And this is another day where we mostly settle for that. Some columns sound a call to action. Last summer when the Rangers fired Chris Woodward, a man most local sports fans wouldn’t ...

Two years in a row the Dallas Cowboys have flubbed their last-ditch drives against the San Francisco 49ers in the playoffs. Last year, Dak Prescott ran too far on a quarterback draw and handed the ball to his center instead of the umpire. Time expired before he could get off one more play for a Hail Mary. This time, it was those around him who made the mistakes. 

In a pitch-black 2020 song called “Murder Most Foul,” Bob Dylan wrote, “What is the truth? Where did it go?” Fair questions right now in the age of New York congressman-elect George Santos fabricating his way to office shamefully, but, even worse, shamelessly. Many of us seem to find the truth to be bor-ing, in need of jazzing up. Just as actual news is no fun because A) you have to wait for ...

PHILADELPHIA — The alignment of this year’s NFC playoffs was enough to send a tingle of memory through Keith Byars, to get him thinking back to opportunities missed and a moment that neither he nor any Eagles fan can forget. Four teams still standing in the divisional round: Eagles-Giants on Saturday, Cowboys-49ers on Sunday, three from the NFC East, one a traditional power from out west. And ...

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Sports Breaking News

News Alert