Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Timesland scores

High schools: Galax, Auburn land players on first team of VHSL all-state baseball squad

High schools: Galax, Auburn land players on first team of VHSL all-state baseball squad

  • 0

Auburn second baseman Dylan Akers was named to the VHSL Class 1 all-state baseball team.

Pitcher Jacob Stuart and outfielder Cade Ashworth of Galax have been named to the VHSL Class 1 baseball team by a panel of coaches.

Auburn second baseman Dylan Akers also made the first team.

Second-team picks from Timesland schools were Auburn’s Keith Reed and Hunter Keith and Bland County’s Jake Watters.

Washington & Lee shortstop Carson Bell was named player of the year.

Rodney Painter of Riverheads was named coach of the year.

First team

Pitcher — Jacob Stuart, Galax, sr.; Elijah Dunlap, Riverheads, soph.; Ethan Hoover, Central-Lunenburg, sr.; Catcher — Drew Richards, Eastside, sr.; First base — Cole Harness, Eastside, sr.; Second base — Dylan Akers, Auburn, sr.; Third base — Matthew Kleinfelter, Lancaster, jr.; Shortstop — Carson Bell, Washington & Lee, sr.; Outfield — Blake Stinson, Honaker, sr.; Connor Buchanan, PH-Glade Spring, sr.; Cade Ashworth, Galax, jr.; Nate Nowlin, Central-Lunenburg, sr.; Designated hitter — Hartley Hilton, Honaker, sr.; Utility — Chris Marshall, Honaker, sr.

Second team

Pitcher — Matthew Kleinfelter, Lancaster; Noah Rasnick, Eastside; Keith Reed, Auburn; Catcher — Forrest Shuey, Riverheads; First base — Christian Hall, Central-Lunenburg; Second base — Nick Basye, Northumberland; Third base — Braeson Fulton, Riverheads; Shortstop — Grant Painter, Riverheads; Outfield — Bradley Roberts, Riverheads; Jacob Council, Windsor; Hunter Keith, Auburn; Tyler Jackson, PH-Glade Spring — Designated hitter — Jake Watters, Bland County; Utility — Michael Robertson, Riverheads.

Player of the year

Carson Bell, Washington & Lee.

Coach of the year

Rodney Painter, Riverheads.

Class 2

Page County freshman pitcher T.R. Williams was named the VHSL Class 2 player of the year after leading the Panthers to the state championship.

Page County’s Wayne Comer, who was a member of the Detroit Tigers’ 1968 World Series championship team, was named coach of the year.

No Timesland players made the first or second team.

First team

Pitcher — T.R. Williams, Page County, fr.; Tristan Eppard, Page County, sr.; Andrew Potojecki, Chatham, jr.; Catcher — Kaden Warren, Clarke County, sr.; First base — Justin Lewis, Virginia High, jr.; Second base — Bryce Bowman, John Battle, sr.; Third base — Tristan Gordon, Page County, soph.; Shortstop — Cole Ragone, Maggie Walker, sr.; Outfield — Carter Strickland, Randolph-Henry, sr.; Josh Good, Page County, sr.; Luke Estep, Central-Wise, sr.; Hunter Mohr, Appomattox County, sr.; Designated hitter — Landon Smith, King William, jr.; Utility — Ryan Huffman, King William, sr.

Second team

Pitcher — Wyatt Murray, Goochland; Hunter Mohr, Appomattox County; Sidney Willis, Tazewell; Catcher — Willie Havens, Amelia County; First base — Wyatt Murray, Goochland; Second base — Graham Dalton, Chatham; Third base — John King, Goochland; Shortstop — Jake Mumpower, John Battle; Outfield — Ty Hevener, Wilson Memorial; Logan Smith, Lebanon; Kolbe Jorgenson, King William; Designated hitter — Easton Martin, Stuarts Draft; Utility — Bobby Medley, Virginia High.

Player of the year

T.R. Williams, Page County.

Coach of the year

Wayne Comer, Page County.


Class 1

Four juniors from state runner-up Auburn have been selected to the first team on the VHSL Class 1 softball squad in voting by a panel of coaches.

Pitcher Skyler DeHart, catcher Abby Wilson, first baseman Emily Scaggs and outfielder McKenzie Lawrence made the first team for the Eagles along with Chilhowie outfielder Leah Kestner.

Six Timesland players made the second team: Auburn’s Lacey Bishop and Tori Boyd, Galax’s Hayden Cassell, Chilhowie’s Shelby Murphy, George Wythe’s McKenzie Ingo and Parry McCluer’s Chloe Persinger.

Rappahannock’s Meredith Slaw was voted player of the year, making the first team at a utility position.

Rappahannock’s Ellen Gaines was named coach of the year.

First team

Pitcher — Emily Bankson, Windsor, sr.; Caroline Davenport, Rappahannock, soph.; Skyler DeHart, Auburn, jr.; Catcher — Abby Wilson, Auburn, jr.; First base — Emily Scaggs, Auburn, jr.; Second base — Samantha Persinger, Riverheads, soph.; Third base — Catie Bordwine, Northwood, jr.; Designated player/flex — Maeve Collins, Rappahannock, sr.; Outfield — Sydney Carter, Windsor, sr.; Leah Lester, Riverheads, sr.; McKenzie Lawrence, Auburn, jr.; Leah Kestner, Chilhowie, jr.; Utility — Meredith Slaw, Rappahannock.

Second team

Pitcher — Emily Walters, Riverheads; Hayden Cassell, Galax; Nancy Jo Roberts, Northwood; Catcher — Carmon Bradley, Riverheads; First base — Hannah Stout, Northumberland; Second base — Lacey Bishop, Auburn; Third base — Taylor Settle, Rappahannock County; Shortstop — Shelby Murphy, Chilhowie; Designated player/flex — Tori Boyd, Auburn; Outfield — Sarin Darby, Rappahannock; MaKyla Burks, Windsor; McKenzie Ingo, George Wythe; Abby Vicars, Rye Cove; Utility — Chloe Persinger, Parry McCluer.

Player of the year

Meredith Slaw, Rappahannock.

Coach of the year

Ellen Gaines, Rappahannock.


Class 2

Radford senior defender Gabby Perez was the lone Timesland player named to the first unit on the VHSL Class 2 girls soccer team.

Eastern Montgomery forward Taylor Spence and Radford freshman midfielder Makenzie Page made the second team.

Clarke County forward Danielle Toone, a Longwood University signee, was named player of the year.

George Bitadze of state champion George Mason was voted coach of the year by a panel of his peers.

First team

Forward — Mya Holmes, Richlands, sr.; Danielle Toone, Clarke County, sr.; Victoria Rund, George Mason, sr.; Katie Smith, Maggie Walker, soph.; Taylor Fulcher, Appomattox County, jr.; Midfield — Ellie Lindsey, Richlands, jr.; Samantha Paulette, Appomattox County, sr.; Sydney Staples, Clarke County, sr.; Emilie Smith, Middlesex, sr.; Kira Flores, Maggie Walker, jr.; Defender — Ashley Haines, Madison County, sr.; Gabi Cao, Maggie Walker, sr.; Cassidy Carter, Appomattox County, sr.; Gabby Perez, Radford, sr.; Maura Mann, George Mason, jr.; Goalkeeper — Kendall Herbaugh, Central-Woodstock, sr.

Second team

Forward — Callie McMurray, Gate City; Makayla Taylor, Madison County; Lauren Michel, Maggie Walker; Ava Veith, Bruton; Taylor Spence, Eastern Montgomery; Midfield — Hannah Chatterton, Stuarts Draft, jr.; Maddie LaCroix, George Mason; Ashley Nelson, Maggie Walker; Abby Ranson, Appomattox County; Makenzie Page, Radford; Defender — Michaela Monk, John Battle; Maddie Dunn, Maggie Walker; Jantzen Taylor, Richlands; Cameron Sowers, Clarke County; Mary Baldwin, Appomattox County; Goalkeeper — Madi Sabalewski, Maggie Walker.

Player of the year

Danielle Toone, Clarke County.

Coach of the year

George Bitadze, George Mason.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Sports Breaking News

News Alert